Halloween

 

Daily Prompt :Artificial
There used to be a time, when life was basically serene. Oh, I’m sure some places had their crazies,and I’m sure if I went looking  I could find bizarre cases, but for the most part people had to buy scary.

Sure, people buy scary now, but we’ve amped up the level of fright, so that anything more subtle just may not hold the appeal it once did.As schools abolish the typical Halloween party for harvest parties, pumpkin patches and hay rides, which by the way, I adore;we find alternate ways to find scary. I, by the way, turn on the news. That’s scary enough for me.

Halloween has become a mild candy filled fun holiday as parts of the world run amok, and we find our outlets toward the frightening with haunted houses, and in movies.

I’m not against Halloween. It is my favorite holiday, probably because, although it’s artificial in the way Christmas and Easter’s trappings are, it’s more honest, and not pretending to be holy. Ironic when you consider the translation of the word Halloween. Halloween is honest in the way I don’t feel like a hypocrite partaking in it. This is in contrast to the way I feel when I am eating the heads of chocolate bunnies, and impaling angels on top of my tree. That feels artificial sometimes, but I still do it in keeping with tradition.

As I am researching Halloween, my head is swimming with the evolution it has taken. It has to be the most mishmashed of Holidays.

I do realize I called Halloween artificial, and honest in the same breath. I also realize my post is a mishmash and my focus not whole, and  gotten way off my point, which was to give a nod to Gothic horror stories.

I got off on a tangent, and it’s taken a long time, so if you readers don’t mind,I’m keeping my thoughts as is.

Anyway,in reference to the bygone days when life was simpler,and less artificial,I found some Gothic books. These are the books I am buying for my Halloween, my preferred way to get my thrills and chills.

My October reading book list.

51lifhbgmml-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Published Oct 22,1892 The Yellow Wallpaper ( Amazon) by Charlotte Gilman is about postpartum depression psychosis. A woman is forced to stay in a room with yellow wallpaper. This is done with the intention of giving her rest, but she hates the yellow wallpaper, and it slowly drives her insane.  Sometimes, the most frightening things are those that we can commiserate.

51srpvvlhol

First published in 1972 by Josheph Sheridan Le Fanu Carmilla predates Bram Stoker’s Dracula by 25 years. This edition, which is illustrated was published in 2012.

Both the The Yellow Wallpaper and Carmilla are short stories, and I am buying them both.
Also, if you are not into gothic, and want a modern story for Halloween, may I suggest a novel called, Shining In Crimson ,by Robert Wilson, which I am also buying.

517sn9sup4l

Shining in Crimson: Empire of Blood Book One (A Dystopian Vampire Novel

Set in a dystopian, religiously-demented American Empire, the city of Las Vegas is no longer a city of sin. Now called Necropolis, it is a city that eats sin. The vampires of Necropolis wait patiently for the Empire’s weekly drop off of guilty Penitents; sinners and criminals full of fresh blood.

Hank Evans is one of those Penitents and he would gladly let the vampires take every drop of his blood if it weren’t for one detail: Toby. Toby is Hank’s only son. Now, Hank must do whatever it takes to escape the city of the dead and save his son from an Empire as bloodthirsty as the vampires it uses to keep its people in line.

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. dunelight says:

    I read Yellow Wallpaper a verrrrry long time ago. I did not realize it was a 19th Century story. It stuck with me. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

